Friday, July 28, 2023

Suzanne's Biography

 me at my wedding 1982

NOT UPDATED MUCH YET - MOVING IT OVER TO THIS NEW SITE SO CHECK BACK! Pictures and some links may not work yet.


Age: 61

Birthday: 12/3/61

Married: 41 years (married 1982)

Born: Fairfield, CA

Grew up in: San Diego, CA and Carlsbad, CA.

Lives in: Magnolia, Arkansas

Have also lived in: Guam; Spokane, WA (both as a baby); Pomona (briefly, in Kindergarten); Long Island, NY (82-86); El Paso, TX (86-87); Normal, IL (87-89); Riverside, CA (89-97);  Lubbock, TX (97-01); Tuscaloosa, AL (01-10); Columbus, GA (11-13), and Honolulu, HI (13-16). We have moved a lot due to my husband's job. Of the past places we've lived, Honolulu was my favorite, San Diego second favorite.

Maiden Name: Suzanne Marie McGlone

Siblings: 3 brothers (Pat, David and Stephen)

Parents: both deceased

Pets: BugsDog (deceased now)  We now have our dog Brandy! See many pics and videos

Schooling: I went to many different colleges. I graduated with my B.A. in Liberal Arts at University of New York at Stony Brook in 1987. I briefly worked toward getting an MA in music and an education certificate, but I didn't finish either.  I started in the Mass Communications (Mass Media) degree program in January 2017 at Southern Arkansas University to get my second B.A. More Info About My SAU Classes I graduated in Spring 2020! I have been taking some art classes there, for fun.

Job history: I  worked at many restaurants, stores, and fast food places during college; then I was a teacher for two years 1989-1991; I also did many temp jobs, substitute teaching, and office work. Current Resume

My best job was at Ask Jeeves (also known as I was hired by founder and friend David Warthen to help develop the database and web site. Later, I was the "Voice of Jeeves" as their only customer service person, answering questions via email.  I worked there until the end of 2000 when the company had financial problems and laid off 1/4 of their workers.

I started my own company while I was at Ask Jeeves, The TV MegaSite, Inc.  I enjoy working at home. It has lots of perks, like getting free DVD's and letting me interview TV actors, writers, directors and producers! We're slowly moving the site to TVMEG.COM

When we lived in Hawaii, I had a second job as a professional singer in a local rock band. It was a lot of fun. It was called the All Natural Band, and we did oldies from mostly the 50's and 60's.  Then some of the members had a falling out and the band sort of fell apart. I started taking guitar lessons in September 2015, until we left Hawaii in June 2106. That was great, and I got to sing and play two songs at the Hard Rock in Waikiki with my teacher and his band (other students performed, too). I plan to keep up with the guitar and singing.  Hopefully one day I'll try again with a band.  You can see some of my songs by myself, with the band, and in concert in my YouTube channel.  Also, check out my Music History. During the pandemic, I didn't do much singing. I hope to get back into it again.

Personal history: The first 25 years of my life were not great, but the rest have been wonderful!

My family was very poor when I was growing up.  I married my high school sweetheart, David, in 1982.  We moved to New York for college then.

Notable: My family helped start the San Diego Comic-Con in 1970, which is now a huge media event. My three brothers were on the original committees and my mom helped type up the first program.

Hobbies: Singing, webpage-making,  karaoke, guitar playing, collecting, reading, watching TV and movies, traveling, drawing and more.  Singing is my passion! I've been online since 94, and I've been singing since childhood (plus I had many years of voice lessons). I've sung in many choirs and done tons of karaoke, and have wanted for years to join a rock band, which I did for a while!

What I do:  I spend a lot of time on the computer - mostly working for my classes, or on my sites, answering email and social network. I don't have a lot of time to edit I'm usually working on my site.

Health:  I walk  my dog Brandy twice a day (about 2 miles).  My husband and I travel quite often for fun and for his work conferences.  I'm trying to lose about 30 lbs. I have several health problems, such as foraminal stenosis which gives me pain in my upper back, neck, shoulders and arms. I'm type II diabetic, so I have to eat low carb, diet and exercise. I have many allergies which can be very difficult as well. Some are food allergies and some are pollen and dust. I can't eat gluten, avocados or most milk products.

PANDEMIC UPDATE:  Beginning March 17, 2020, we stopped eating out, traveling, going to the store, etc. with just a few exceptions.  We're both very careful and always wear masks, stay away from people, wash our hands, etc. We're now vaccinated, but we're still taking the CDC's advice and being careful. Since I work at home, I've mostly been at home. My husband has his own office and works on a campus with strict protocols.  We really didn't want to get COVID, especially because of my being diabetic. I was also glad not to get any colds as I usually get 2 or 3.  People are more relaxed now about it, and we are, a little bit. I did get a cold this year (2023). I still work mostly at home and avoid crowds.

I'm not the type of person to worry at all, but this crisis made me worry a lot. I'm usually an upbeat and optimistic person. I've had some depression during this pandemic, so it's been difficult. I had some online therapy for a while, and I need to get a regular local therapist.

My regular Blog is updated weekly (but it's private now). I usually post quite often/daily on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.

Hobbies and other stuff

Friends' Links

Friends Photos

Relatives Photos

Famous Photos

Bugs Dog's Page and Photos

My Photos

This page updated 7/28/23

No comments:

Featured Posts

Suzanne's Albums

  In no particular order ROCK/POP/FOLK Beatles - Early Beatles , Rubber Soul , Yesterday and Today , Meet the Beatles , Beatles '65 , ...

Most Popular Posts This Year